This week I made another fairly simple cake. It was a devil’s food cake with a chocolate ganache for the frosting. I really enjoyed making this one because the recipe was nice and easy, and it turned out pretty good. I’m not a huge fan of chocolate, so this definitely wasn’t my favourite to eat, but it still turned out better than I expected.

I really didn’t enjoy making the ganache frosting, because it required me to thinly chop 12 ounces of dark chocolate, which doesn’t sound like a lot but I basically had to shred 4 large bars of chocolate. It took forever. I think that it was worth it though, since it was the ‘flavour’ of the cake.

I kept the decoration fairly basic because the ganache wasn’t thick enough to stay on certain spots of the cake. I added some mini eggs to give it some colour as it was plain and boring, but it sort of works because I made this cake around Easter.

I would like to make an angel food cake next, because the recipes are seemingly very different. Devil’s food cake is a very rich, dense chocolate cake whereas angel food cake is a light and fluffy vanilla spongecake. I think it would be good to compare the two.